Hatred is back on Steam Greenlight

The game Hatred was taken off Steam Greenlight earlier and now seems to be back onto the platform. It was taken off it seems due to the content found within the game, an ultra-violent, genocide crusade that gets to the point of simply saying this guy just wants to kill people. (I wrote about it getting taken off Steam Greenlight here.)

According to Destructive Creations, Valve co-founder Gabe Newell (Gaben, the man, the legend…I’ll stop now) apologized to the developer for the game being removed from Steam Greenlight. The developer of Hatred published the following email from Newell to Destructive Creations creative director Jaroslaw Zielinski on Facebook. (Source: Polygon)

Hi, Jaroslaw.

Yesterday I heard that we were taking Hatred down from Greenlight. Since I wasn’t up to speed, I asked around internally to find out why we had done that. It turns out that it wasn’t a good decision, and we’ll be putting Hatred back up. My apologies to you and your team. Steam is about creating tools for content creators and customers.

Good luck with your game.

Gabe

I’m extremely glad that Hatred was put back onto Steam Greenlight, despite my lack of interest in playing the game. The game has no reason to not be allowed onto the platform and has a right to be played by others on the largest platform for PC games. I’m glad that Steam/Valve/Gaben made a change here and allowed this game to have an opportunity to be played for those who want to play it (and plenty of people are interested in the game, there is a market for it).

I was afraid that Steam was going to fall into the trap of being “politically correct” (whatever that means) or catering to the overly “offended”(whatever that means) culture or something of that sorts and I’m glad that they did not. I don’t want developers/publishers to cater to a culture based upon subjectively being “offended” by video games. That is a type of world I don’t want to live in, vote with your wallets and stop being offended.

Did you enjoy this post? Follow my blog for (almost) daily posts on video game news, opinions, reviews, and a bunch of other stuff!

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring writer who writes this stuff on these blogs to make you learn something I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) He’s trying to be a video game journalist but is probably failing at that. You can follow him on Twitter @jjordon96 (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally).

Leave a Reply

