How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Call of Duty

I haven’t played or bought a Call of Duty game since 2010’s Black Ops. I was sick and tired of the same game every year and supporting this business model. So I took it upon myself to boycott Call of Duty…until now. A couple weeks ago, I popped in Modern Warfare 2 (one of my favorite games of the last generation) into my Playstation 3. I had day’s worth of gameplay on the game’s PVP multiplayer, which is a lot for a gamer that mostly plays single player games. I played a couple of matches in Team Deathmatch and suddenly realized that this is the most fun I’ve had playing video games in months. I was having stupid amounts of fun getting kills with an ACR, running around only knifing people like an idiot, and sprinting around with a shotgun as a sidearm because the developers of this game were insane.

Video games have been slipping away from me for the past few months and suddenly; I was really enjoying games again. I missed this feeling of excitement and rush that video games used to bring me, and now I went and did something I vowed never to do again: buy another Call of Duty game. I went ahead and bought Advanced Warfare (and wrote a review here…shameless plug) and I’m enjoying it quite a bit.

The game isn’t perfect by any means. Some aspects of the multiplayer are ridiculous and absurd (System Hack scorestreak, awful spawns, the game maybe being a bit too fast), but the game is still some of the most fun I’ve ever had playing a first person shooter online because of that ridiculousness.

Sure, the campaign and the co-op are same old, same old, and aren’t the reason you are probably buying these games in the first place, but I still have been coming back to the PVP almost every single day and playing for a decent amount of time each time. Is it that different from most COD games? No, not really. It adds some new gameplay elements and has probably the best class set-up system the series has ever had, but it still keeps the same core gameplay…and I’ve sort of come to the conclusion that I’m okay with that. It used to piss me off, the laziness these developers had when they could make better games and I still believe they could be making better games, but I’m okay with it now.

I used to be one of those people getting angry with Call of Duty and its yearly bullshit, but I’m okay with it. People are going to love these games regardless of what I have to say about them and more power to them because I sort of understand once again. I’m having a blast with Advanced Warfare…and that’s okay that I am.

What do you think about Call of Duty as a franchise? Have you played Advanced Warfare? Do you boycott/not play Call of Duty like I once did?

Did you enjoy this post? Follow my blog for (almost) daily posts!

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring writer who writes this stuff on these blogs to make you learn something or laugh I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) You can follow him on Twitter @jjordon96 (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally).

Leave a Reply

