Sony unhappy about scalped 20th Anniversary Playstation 4 Consoles

Sony released 12,300 of the 20th Anniversary version of the Playstation 4, which was extremely difficult to get (for obvious reasons). This has led to overly inflated prices on the secondary market.

“That’s not what we want to see happen,” Playstation UK boss Fergal Gara told Eurogamer. “It’s inevitable some proportion of that will happen, and very hard to prevent it completely.” “We did think things through. But in each and every case, the way you get hold of one of these consoles requires some fan knowledge, so we’re trying to tap into the people who love the brand the most, and put them at an advantage, because they’re the people who keep us in business, who inspire this whole 20 year legacy.”

To pick up an inexpensive unit in the UK you first had to track down the pop-up store, bring a piece of Playstation memorabilia, and say the secret phrase: “I crashed my bandicoot.” (Source: Polygon)

I’ve got a crazy idea: make a couple more! I know it’ll make this special edition PS4…well…not as special, but who cares? I’d rather the secondary market of price gouging not hurt people’s chances of getting one for a fair price in the first place. The console is obviously beautiful and if I didn’t have a PS4, I would have probably tried to get one myself (and failed miserably I’m sure), but I just think it’s really silly to not just make more. There’s obviously a market for these Playstations if they are selling for absurd amounts of EBay that Sony would rather not happen. I don’t think anyone is crazy about the price gougers and price scalpers who ruin these things for everyone. It’s a console made for an anniversary, a console made for the fans, and why not just let the fans get them? It’s impossible to prevent, but it’s at least worth a shot if they made more units.

What do you think about the anniversary PS4? Does it look awesome or what? Do you think Sony should simply just produce more to stop price gougers?

Did you enjoy this post? Follow my blog for (almost) daily posts on video game news, opinions, reviews, and a bunch of other stuff!

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring writer who writes this stuff on these blogs to make you learn something I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) He’s trying to be a video game journalist but is probably failing at that. You can follow him on Twitter @jjordon96 (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally).

Leave a Reply

