My Top 10 Most Anticipated Games Of 2015

2015 is a pretty huge year of video games and will more than likely be the year that Xbox One and Playstation 4 finally hit their stride. It only makes senses because both consoles have two of their biggest IP’s coming out with a sequel: Halo and Uncharted. These are the two games that are going to help form what the console generation will be like further down the line. But beyond that, there is a huge set of releases. From new Nintendo exclusives (who have already done a pretty good job hitting their stride in their 2nd year with the Wii U) to great 3rd party software such as Batman: Arkham Knight or Mortal Kombat X, 2015 is shaping up to be a massive year with (hopefully) not broken games. (2014, you will go down in history as the year of broken games.) I figured I’d make an extensive list of some of the games worth noting that are potentially being released in 2015. So let’s get this started:

10. Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture (PS4) (TBA)

I know almost nothing about this game…and that is the way I want to keep it. The small amounts of footage that have been shown at different gaming events have convinced me enough that this game is going to be interesting. I already love post-apocalyptic settings and the whole minimalist approach to the reveals of this game has kept me incredibly interested in what this game is truly about.

 9. Kirby and the Rainbow Curse (Wii U) (February 13th)

I remember playing Kirby Canvas Curse, a game that came out for the DS that is similar in style to Rainbow Curse. I didn’t love Canvas Curse per say, but I’m still excited to play this game on the Wii U, because I think it is so perfect for this platform. From the absolutely gorgeous graphics and art style to the Wii U Gamepad controller being used in full stride, I think this title will help show off the Wii U and the unique things it can do. Also, more Kirby games is never a bad thing, Kirby is awesome.

8. Saints Row: Gat out of Hell (PS4, PS3, XBOne, Xbox 360, PC) /Saints Row IV: Re-Elected (PS4, XBOne) (January 20th)

The Saints Row franchise manages to be one that is constantly argued about. Some people think it’s not worth playing because Grand Theft Auto is better, but I’m part of the camp that thinks Saints Row The Third is one of the best open world games I’ve ever played. I’ve yet to play Saints Row IV, so I plan to buy the Re-Elected edition of the game which is a remastered version for PS4/XBOne that comes with all the DLC, including the new one Saints Row: Gat out of Hell which revolves around Johnny Gat trying to rescue the Boss from Hell after being captured by Satan.

7. Star Fox (Wii U) (TBA)

The only “true” Star Fox game I’ve played is Star Fox 64 and that was on an emulator. That didn’t run that well. And I wasn’t using a 64 controller. So needless to say, I’m a bit excited to play a “real” Star Fox game…probably for the first time if I don’t play anything Star Fox related before this game comes out. I find it baffling that it has taken Nintendo THIS LONG to release a real Star Fox game. Let’s put something in perspective: Fox McCloud, Falco, and Wolf are some of the best Smash Bros. characters and have remained massively popular because of Smash Bros, how would it have been that hard to be like, “hey, let’s make a new, real Star Fox title!” I find it a bit crazy, but hey, we’re getting one! And I think it’s safe to assume that the Wii U will be an incredible platform for it.

6. Yoshi’s Woolly World (Wii U) (Spring 2015)

This game looks beautiful. I could just end this here. For the art style alone, I want to play this game. Badly. But beyond that, the game looks like a really great platformer with plenty of fun gameplay mechanics worth being excited for. Again, this is another franchise with a bit of a revival on a main Nintendo platform; we haven’t had a main Yoshi title on a home Nintendo console since Yoshi’s Story. That was 1997. Also, the developers of Kirby’s Epic Yarn are behind this new Yoshi game, Good-Feel, and I think they have a knack for making really stylized and fun platformers at this point to provide a fun game for everyone to play. If anything, it’s games like this that make me realize how fun and beautiful games can be in the first place, and that’s why I really look forward to it.

5. Star Wars: Battlefront (PS4/XBOne) (Holiday 2015)

Who isn’t excited for this game? We have a new Star Wars movie coming out (that had one amazing teaser trailer) and we have a new Battlefront game coming out. And it’s been one hell of a long time since we’ve had one. This game is going to be massive is my guess. It’ll be so stuff-packed with features and great online play that it will take awhile to swallow everything found within this game. It’s going to be mash of great fan service, fun gunplay, and just Star Wars goodness all around. I’m sure I will be spending tons of hours playing this game, more than likely online, and have an absolute blast. And the thing is, I’m not even a hardcore Star Wars fan, I just really love the original trilogy and it sort of ends there, I don’t dabble in the extended universe much and I despise the prequels. But none of that even matters. I can’t wait for this game.

4. No Man’s Sky (PS4/PC) (TBA)

What do I even have to say about this game? It sounds like the most ambitious game to be released in quite some time. It is an open universe game where you explore different planets and you can share details of these planets online with people. The game also constantly generates different and unique planets to explore as the game goes on which sounds incredibly ambitious and I have no idea if it will fully work, but I don’t even care. Who knows? Maybe it was just the way the trailer was cut together with the music and everything that makes me excited for this game, but it doesn’t matter, this looks like something we need more of in the games industry.

3. Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain (PS4/PS3/X360/XBOne/PC) (TBA)

I have yet to even play Ground Zeroes and I haven’t played some of the MGS games in years so I don’t even completely remember all of the plot (who does?), but who cares? This is a next gen Metal Gear title (kind of…I mean it is unfortunately a past gen title as well which is probably limiting the game from its full potential) and I’m extremely excited. The fact that the game is open world is pretty insane as well. Did anyone really expect a fully open-world Metal Gear game? I didn’t. I just never thought the franchise would ever go that route and that makes me excited for this game even more so. As a whole, I don’t even know much about the game, I’ve avoided most of the trailers and content shown of the game simply because I’d rather go in (mostly) blind and have a blast.

2. Batman Arkham Knight (PS4/XBOne/PC) (June 2nd)

The two Batman Arkham games I’ve played (City and Asylum) are two of my favorite games of all time. From the buttery smooth combat system to actually feeling like Batman to the really well written stories, Rocksteady has crafted an amazing franchise. Though I haven’t played Origins (I plan to before Arkham Knight comes out), I still want to see how the series will evolve through this new title. The only footage I’ve seen was shown at E3 this year, which is basically all I need to see anyhow. It showed me the perfect amount of gameplay and convinced me with ease that this game is going to be one hell of a good time (I was going to buy it anyway…I didn’t need to see anything to be convinced). I have absolute confidence that this game is going to be one of the first true next gen titles, it isn’t limited by past gen console development, and they were willing to delay the game significantly to make a better title for everyone. I truly think this will be the best game in the franchise.

1. Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End (PS4) (TBA)

The Uncharted franchise is near and dear to me. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is one of my favorite games of all time. I love basically everything about the game, from the characters to the writing to the cinematic extravagance to the fun gunplay; the game is what I love about a lot of big budget games. Naughty Dog just hit it completely right with this franchise. Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception was a pretty great game as well, though I still love the 2nd game much more, and I really can’t wait to see a next gen Uncharted game (and Naughty Dog game). All we have so far is a single trailer that shows no gameplay. It doesn’t matter. That’s good enough for me. That is all I needed. Naughty Dog is (probably) my favorite developer in the games industry right now. The Last of Us had a huge emotional impact on me and means a lot to me (which you can read about in my Top 15 games of last generation post here) not only as a gamer, but also as a human being who feels things or something. I now look forward to every single Naughty Dog game with absolute excitement and will gladly fork over my 60 dollars in support. (And besides, Neil Druckmann and Bruce Straley, the lead directors for The Last of Us, are leading this project now…how can I not be excited?)

What the games are you’re looking forward to most in 2015? What next gen consoles have you purchased? Which ones do you plan to purchase? I have a PS4 and I’m getting a Wii U…and I probably won’t bother to get an Xbox One. Let me know in the comments below!

Did you enjoy this post? Follow my blog for (almost) daily posts on video game news, opinions, reviews, and a bunch of other stuff!

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring writer who writes this stuff on these blogs to make you learn something I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) He’s trying to be a video game journalist but is probably failing at that. You can follow him on Twitter @jjordon96 (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally).

 

Leave a Reply

