GameStop Will Be Closed On Thanksgiving

GameStop has confirmed that they will not be open on Thanksgiving next week. (Source: Gamespot.) CEO Paul Raines has stated, “we will be closed on Thanksgiving Day next week in the United States out of respect for our associates and their families.” “Sometimes, we have to not let the pressure from other retailers distract us from out values.” GameStop will still open many of its stores at midnight and the rest will be opening at 8 A.M. the next day. I have to say, this is really great news. As much as I don’t really care for GameStop and I don’t ever shop there, (I can’t remember the last time I bought a game there) this is still incredibly respectful of them to do and ALL retailers should follow suit.

I also just think it is great that this is coming from the games industry. The fact that the chain of video game stores is going to be the one that will not be open on Thanksgiving is a very good sign, especially considering that video games and video game consoles are a huge product for Black Friday. As a whole, I think this is a positive sign for the games industry if the major games retail is going to step out of the running for stupid Black Friday sales on Thanksgiving which I heard was apparently this time for family or something. I don’t know. Ask Walmart and Best Buy, they’re a bit confused.

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring faux writer who writes this garbage on these blogs to make you laugh or learn something I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) You can follow him on Twitter @jjordon96 (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally). (I think I just said my book was shit.)

Leave a Reply

