On Game Reviewers Getting Paid Off (and why it’s stupid)

A new Call of Duty game comes out. It usually gets around an 8.5 to 9.0 by most mainstream gaming sites; they must be paid off, right? Or could they, oh, I don’t know, actually enjoy the game? Trust me, I think a lot of games get far too high of scores than they deserve, but we have to realize something, games are subjective. People are going to like the games they want to like, if Call of Duty gets a 9.0, who cares? But on the top of every IGN post on Facebook, all they say is, “not COD 0/10,” or stupid garbage like that, which is really silly. Trolls are trolls though, I suppose.

But honestly, can we seriously say that video game journalists are paid off for reviews? I just find the concept incredibly silly. I don’t think studios or publishers are going to spend money on reviewers to pay them to write positive reviews. For one thing, people are going to buy Call of Duty or Assassin’s Creed or Destiny or Halo or whatever regardless of reviews because they are brand names, they’ve built up a huge fan-base. (Well, Destiny is a new IP but it doesn’t matter because Bungie is a popular studio.) And I have my doubts on smaller developers and publishers having the money to pay for game reviews. I don’t know, as I said, the concept is incredibly stupid.

Are we not allowed to just respect and trust the opinions of the people who review video games? Sure, I disagree with a lot of reviews on major gaming sites and think a lot of games get far too high of scores (as I already mentioned), but the beauty of video games (and art in general) is people can decide what they want to love or hate. Besides if you’re just buying games solely based on reviews that isn’t the greatest idea in the first place, buy or rent games and experience them yourself to form a real opinion, game reviewers aren’t the be all end all of what is or isn’t quality. You make that choice.

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring faux writer who writes this garbage on these blogs to make you laugh or learn something I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) You can follow him on Twitter @jjordon96 (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally). (I think I just said my book was shit.)

Leave a Reply

