Broken Games and Half-Ass Releases: What the hell is going on with games in 2014?

Destiny ended up being empty and hollow and lacking content and has server problems. Driveclub is literally broken. Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare has plenty of server problems. Assassin’s Creed Unity is littered in issues of glitches, online problems, frame rate issues, and plenty of general problems. Halo: The Master Chief Collection’s matchmaking is broken and Halo: CE has no matchmaking yet. What the hell is going on here?

Why are developers releasing half-assed games? Why are we getting overhyped games that only sorta kinda work? What is going on the games industry right now? Why are these games released and not delayed? Why are we churning these games out like a machine, instead of making them actual well-polished titles? I have a lot of questions and not enough answers. This year has been a very strange year of overhyped games that are littered in technical problems and basically missing content. Have developers forgotten about the concept of delaying a game? Or are they too afraid to not deliver on time? Frankly, I’m not entirely sure.

The Destiny question is pretty easily solved: Bungie decided to release a game with not all of its content and instead decided to go with DLC to release the ‘full game.’ I don’t think we can really question it anymore. This is a thing that is happening in the machine of big budget titles. It is a business model, whether we like it or not. Destiny could have probably been pushed till next year and had much more content, I’m sure of it, but Bungie took this route and I’m not a fan. I will never be a fan of excessive DLC because I feel like I’m getting incomplete games on a constant basis. It isn’t good. It’s very toxic to this industry, especially if this industry wants to be taken a bit more seriously. I don’t think you want to be known as the entertainment industry that releases half-assed content. Movies aren’t half-released. (Okay a few of those movies are split into two…to make more money just like DLC…but forget about that for now, okay?) But enough on that, the DLC issue is a difficult thing to solve because developers want more money and I don’t know if I can entirely blame them if people are still willing to buy half-made games.

But these technical issues are just pathetic, I’m sorry, they really are. Don’t release games that don’t work. I realize video games are not easy to make. In fact, they could be the hardest to make out of any entertainment industry, so many people are involved, so many technical issues are prevalent, and most of all: so much money is involved ($500 million in Destiny’s case). But should we, as gamers, let developers continue to release games that don’t work on release? As I already said, Driveclub doesn’t even really work. Assassin’s Creed Unity is filled with technical issues, and for a major franchise, that isn’t really acceptable, and maybe, just maybe, if they didn’t release games so often, (there’s two this year from this franchise…I already wrote about yearly franchises here) the games would come out without issues. It isn’t a bad thing for a studio to spend more time on a game in order to fix technical issues and I think, if people are actually sensible and not impatient, they should agree. Don’t be afraid to delay games. Seriously. It’s okay. I think most people understand. I’d rather not have broken games and have games that work, I don’t want this era of games to be the era where we have to wait for patches in order to play games the right way, games should work out of the box. I hope that isn’t too much to ask.

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring faux writer who writes this garbage on these blogs to make you laugh or learn something I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) You can follow him on Twitter @jjordon96 (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally). (I think I just said my book was shit.)

Leave a Reply

