Gone Girl (2014) Movie Review

Did I miss something here? I’m not really sure. Gone Girl has an interesting enough premise: Nick Dunne (Ben Affleck) finds out his wife, Amy Elliot-Dunne (Rosamund Pike), has gone missing and the film mostly deals with the trials and tribulations of Nick having to prove that he may or may not be innocent as well as the influence of media and it goes into the nitty-gritty of discussing marriage…cynically.

I’m a bit perplexed about Gone Girl. I’m already late to the party, I’m seeing the movie a couple weeks after it came out and I’ve heard that there are crazy “twists” and “turns” in the movie (which isn’t really surprising in a Fincher movie) and I was relatively excited. I avoided most of the trailers and previews and generally, most of the information about the film. Essentially, I knew almost nothing going into Gone Girl and I’m glad I did frankly as it really allowed me to form my opinion toward the movie easier rather than being easily swayed by everyone else. Did I love Gone Girl? No, not really.

One of the things I think that came across as most surprising to me from the film is that the movie comes across as coldly cynical and almost indifferent towards its characters. Well, I guess that isn’t entirely true. I was really engrossed with the mystery the film had set-up for at least a solid hour and a half, I was really into the movie and was really questioning, “what the hell is going on in this film? What is seriously happening?” But then it gets revealed…and well, it just wasn’t that exciting? It sort of almost feels laughable to me, almost Lifetime movie-esque in a way in terms of sociopathic aspects. It feels sort of interesting and then you question what is happening more and more, and, it sort of comes across as silly and unrealistic (mostly) in a movie that is trying to display marriage in a more “honest” and less “simplistic” way. But it comes across as more cynical and cold than “honest” or “simplistic” or “sincere.”

I don’t hate this film by any means; I simply don’t love it when I really want to. I love Fincher, I think he is a great director who has made some seriously incredible films that are some of my favorites, but watching Gone Girl just led me to feel indifferent, cold, and cynical. There is zero solace found within this film. It is cold. It is cynical. It is indifferent. It doesn’t give me anything substantial to latch onto in order for me to like most of the people in this film. Instead, I am left with nothing. There isn’t much social commentary to make the cynicism feel worthy enough. All I really feel like I got out of this movie is, “hey, I guess marriage is shitty or something,” and that just feels like bullshit. It feels empty. It feels lacking. It feels…really fucking disappointing. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t need some flowery, overly happy movie, I just wanted something that didn’t feel so indifferent and that’s all I really got.

I suppose some actual positive things should be talked about. I actually loved all of the performances in the movie. Everyone did a really incredible job with the material given and gave some seriously strong performances that are memorable. Beyond that, I (mostly) loved the first hour and a half, the set-up of the film, it kept me interested in what was going on and I wanted to know the real answer, but, the answer felt mediocre at best for me. The big first reveal of the movie just didn’t satisfy me and it sort of spirals downward by the end for me. Although, I was satisfied by the movie actually displaying two sides of bad: both main characters are not great people by any means and a non-one-sided depiction feels really nice…but in the end, is far too cold for me. Oh, and Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross’ score is really incredible but I’m not surprised at all by that.

I wanted to love Gone Girl. I wanted to so badly. But it fails to give me anything to latch onto, it really did. All this movie did is leave me cold, indifferent, and cynical, it has no solace, it has no real reason for being a story except for saying “marriage sucks I guess” and that is disappointing, the premise is interesting, I was excited…and everything just falls apart.

 2.5/5 stars 

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring faux writer who writes this garbage on these blogs to make you laugh or learn something I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) You can follow him on Twitter @WhyShitSoCrazy (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally). (I think I just said my book was shit.)

Leave a Reply

