John Wick (2014) Movie Review

My brain is officially mashed potatoes. I don’t know if that is a good or a bad thing. I was fortunate enough to catch an early screening of the new action movie, John Wick, which is just an explosion of action scene after action scene. Basically, what I want all of you to picture for this movie is the great action scene from Oldboy (you know what I’m talking about if you’ve seen it) expanded for an hour and thirty minutes. That isn’t necessarily a great thing though, but I suppose that depends on who you are.

The movie doesn’t really have much of a plot per say, all that we get is that John Wick’s (Keanu Reeves) wife has died recently, he is well-known as some crazy action man who works for some group, and then some people from that group kill his dog that was a present from his wife. Wick loses it. He goes out on a full-out rampage against anyone who dares to stop him from killing the people who killed his dog. That is literally the plot of the movie. I’m not joking. Plot and story is immediately cast aside for the action scenes.

But that isn’t to say the action scenes aren’t incredible to watch. They are beautifully shot in almost everyway; you don’t get this kind of stuff anymore. It isn’t a bunch of crappy handheld camera work where you can barely tell what the hell is going on, it is pure, well-shot, bloody, violent action that will keep you on the edge of your seat. This movie doesn’t censor itself and it isn’t afraid to go to Tarantino lengths of violence, it is even quite self-aware of its Tarantino levels of violence. It surprisingly has a slight sense of humor that sort of kind of makes fun of itself and sort of kind of takes itself seriously, and that is highly appreciated in my eyes.

Despite the fact that these action scenes are fun and great to look at, it is a bit much, it becomes far too overbearing by the forty-five minute mark. It becomes too loud and obnoxious for my tastes. Frankly, I wish the movie actually had some kind of plot; actually, the one thing I really wish the movie commented on is questioning the morals of the main character! He is literally murdering person after person without any concern about it. To me, the movie could have been something much better grounded if it actually had some jabs at questioning the morals of the main character, which would have at least expanded the plot in a slight way.

Here’s the thing though: if you love action movies, go see this movie. Absolutely one hundred percent see this flick. You will love it. You will love EVERYTHING about this movie. If you don’t really care about the fact that the movie lacks a strong story (or almost lacks one completely) and only want to see some really well shot action scenes, this is the movie for you. I don’t mean that in a condescending way, I still think the flick was worth watching, it just personally isn’t my kind of movie per say. But then again, I’m someone who’s tastes more lie in comedy than anything else, so action flicks don’t do a lot for me unless they have a more sophisticated plot (Terminator 2: Judgment Day). But overall, the fact of the matter is, there hasn’t been such a well-shot action movie in quite some time, and, for that alone, the movie is worth seeing when it comes out, throw some money at it if you like well-directed action.

2.5/5 stars

Author of this post (and the only author ever on this blog):

Jesse Jordon is an aspiring faux writer who writes this garbage on these blogs to make you laugh or learn something I guess. (Wait, why am I mixing 3rd and 1st person point of view when I’m the only one writing this?) You can follow him on Twitter @WhyShitSoCrazy (if you want I guess). You can also purchase his first self-published book On Human Empathy for only $5.00 (you can buy literature or coffee, it’s up to you to decide. I’d go with the coffee personally). (I think I just said my book was shit.)

Leave a Reply

